Academics | Faculties | FACULTY OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION AND ECONOMICS | Historical Overview | NDU

Historical Overview

Founded in 1987 as the School of Business Administration, the newly established School catered for 78 students and marked a new era in business education in Lebanon. The name was changed to the Faculty of Business Administration in 1994 and to the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics (FBAE) in 1996. Since then, the FBAE has grown in enrolment and in programs. The FBAE is home today for more than 2000 students at the three University campuses: Zouk Mosbeh, Barsa (North Lebanon), and Deir El Kamar (Shouf).


Currently, four main departments constitute FBAE (the Graduate Division, Department of Accounting and Finance, Department of Economics, Department of Marketing and Management, and Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management), and offer nine licensed degrees with different concentrations including three programs at the graduate level. In addition to these degrees, the Faculty offers more than ten minors and emphasis areas. These tracks are designed to give our students a competitive advantage when it comes to managing their current or future careers. Thus, although relatively young compared to its competitors, the FBAE has accomplished phenomenal achievements in its short history and has received praise from local and regional employers for the academic and professional qualities of its graduates.


The demands for FBAE programs have made it one of the fastest growing Faculties at Notre Dame University-Louaize. Conscious about the professional responsibilities and civic duties imposed by its success, the FBAE is continuously being renewed and transformed. July 2013 witnessed a new episode of FBAE’s life. The Faculty successfully achieved membership of the AACSB, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Since then, the FBAE embarked on preparing the grounds for achieving this prestigious North American Accreditation. From this perspective, Assurance of Learning as well as faculty sufficiency and qualifications became central to all Faculty operations. Moreover, multiple streams of action were planned and implemented, informed by the AACSB pillars (Innovation, Impact, and Engagement) and based on the detailed five-year Strategic Plan’s goals and objectives (2014-2019).

Deans of the Faculty of Business Administration & Economics

  • Mr. Antoine Khalil, 1987-1989
  • Dr. Roy Khoueiry, 1989-1992
  • Dr. Raymond Mallat, 1992-1994
  • Dr. Hratch Hadjetian, 1994-2001
  • Dr. Antoine Karam, 2001-2003
  • Dr. Elie Yachoui, 2003-2012
  • Dr. Elie Menassa, 2012-2016
  • Dr. Youssef Zgheib, 2016-2017
  • Dr. Fadi Karaa, 2017-2018
  • Dr. Viviane Naimy, 2018-Present

The Faculty of Business Administration and Economics is a member of AACSB International (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business).

You have been successfully subscribed to our mailing list